A Brief History of Thurmont Lions Club

 

After a number of the businessmen of Thurmont met informally at lunch for a number of months in early 1929, they decided to explore the need for a civic organization to serve the community.  A committee was formed to get in touch with several such groups operating in other parts of the country.  It didn’t take them long to decide upon the Lions Club as their choice.  With the help of some members of the Frederick Lions Club, who became their sponsor, a promotional meeting was held in the old Town Hall on October 23, 1929, and an open invitation was made for prospective members.

 The original signers for the local club included Lester S. Birely, Victor M. Birely, Dr. Morris A. Birely, Allen Creager, John Creeger, Wilbur R. Freeze, William J. Stoner, Harry W. Ruch, H.A.C. Sylvester and Raymond Creager. 

The actual charter was presented to the club at the November 1, 1929, meeting with the following additional members listed on the charter: Carl S. Gall, Parmalee D. Ewing, Frederick Tressett, H.Q. Miller, Ray R. Taylor, Claude A. O’Toole, Dr. James K. Gray, D.S. Weybright, Ernest P. Hammaker and Leonard R. Waesche.

The original meetings were held in Mrs. Ruth Eyler’s Restaurant located across the street from the old library on Water Street.  Since the restaurant’s closing shortly thereafter, the meetings have been held ever since at the Cozy Inn Restaurant.

 Sadly on Sunday, June 8, 2014 the Cozy Inn Restaurant closed their doors.  The last Thurmont Lions Club Membership Meeting was held on Wednesday, June 11, 2014.  Since that time the bi-monthly Thurmont Lions Club meetings have been held at the St. John's Lutheran Church in Thurmont, Maryland.

Today, the club's roster of members includes men and women from many walks of life who are interested in helping others in our community.

Since its inception, the club has been an exceptional forum for discussion and action on matters of public interest.